

SLP holds its 19th AGM

We held our 19th AGM on June 30th at the Singapore Polytechnic Graduates' Guild. We were pleased to see a number of new faces at the meeting. This meeting was special because it marked the end of an era. Ong See Hee, a founding member of SLP was stepping down as President after he had served in this position for four years. He had served with distinction in every Exco since our founding. We are fortunate that he has agreed to be an Advisor.



Hon. Secretary Ngiam Tong Yuen providing some information to the audience

Tay Cheng Pheng was Chairman for the meeting as See Hee was on a business trip. Cheng Pheng highlighted the main points of the Executive Committee's Annual Report for 2009/2010. SLP was becoming more recognized by regulatory authorities as a source of expertise on loss prevention and Workplace Safety and Health matters. For example, See Hee was appointed a member of the WSHC (Chemical Industries) Committee. A number of our Exco. members are members of advisory committees set up by MOM and SPRING Singapore. SLP also has a good working relationship with SCDF. He asked members present to encourage their colleagues to join SLP and swell our ranks.

Our Honorary Treasurer, Jacob Soh, reported on our finances. He had a happy story to tell because SLP had a surplus of nearly \$ 10,000. This mainly arose from the training courses we had run -- LOPA and HAZOPS. Our long term investments were also doing satisfactorily in that they earned us a dividend well in excess of bank interest rates. They had also preserved their value.

Members were informed of the inaugural SLP Awards that we had made to final year Chemical Engineering students at Temasek and Ngee Ann Polytechnics. These \$ 200 Book Prizes are to honor final year Chemical Engineering students at polytechnics who had done well in their safety and industrial health studies. The funding is from an award that SLP won from Schering Plough. The winners are Debbie Teo Jia Ling from Temasek and Ms Teh Cai Lin from Ngee Ann. It is our intention to expand this award to more polytechnics. The most important piece of business at the AGM was the election of a new Executive Committee that would serve for 2 years from July 1, 2010 except our Honorary Treasurer who would serve one year only.

The new Executive Committee is as follows:

President:	Tay Cheng Pheng
Vice President:	Teng Chong Seng
Hon. Secretary:	Ngiam Tong Yuen
Hon. Treasurer:	Ivan Sin
Committee Members:	
Gregory Poi	Jacob Soh
Lam Kit wing	Michael yan
Reginald Tan	Sam Tsen

Two new Honorary Auditors were also elected. They were Ngiam Bo Han and Dai V Nguyen. They will serve until the next AGM.

During the discussion session, Teng Chong Seng took the opportunity to pay a tribute to our Immediate Past President, Ong See Hee, for his sterling contributions to SLP and for his leadership. This was supported by all who were present.

The subject of our collaboration with IES to implement a 2-yr training program was brought up by Anthony Neo who wanted an assurance that this collaboration would not dilute our training efforts in process safety. Newly elected President Tay Cheng Pheng assured him that SLP's contribution would primarily be in process safety. Anthony also suggested that our training courses be pitched at the professional level since this would differentiate us from other service providers. This idea was supported.



A cheerful newly elected President Tay Cheng Pheng taking charge of the proceedings.

With the business of the meeting over, members present were treated to a dinner. This is a much appreciated SLP tradition.

By Ngiam Tong Yuen